Home  | Program  | Accepted Papers  | Venue



International Workshop on Document Analysis Systems

June 9th-11th, 2010

Boston, MA, USA

  • DAS 2010 has successfully concluded.
  • *NEW* The official DAS workshop proceedings is now available online (follow link) in the ACM Digital Library.

    Summary Report:

    Nearly 100 members of the international research community gathered in Boston for the Ninth IAPR International Workshop on Document Analysis Systems from June 9-11, 2010. The DAS workshop has become one of the signature events for TC-11, and DAS 2010 builds on the tradition established by past DAS workshops held in Kaiserslautern, Germany (1994), Malvern, PA (1996), Nagano, Japan (1998), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (2000), Princeton, NJ (2002), Florence, Italy (2004), Nelson, New Zealand (2006), and Nara, Japan (2008).

    DAS 2010 was a 100% participation, single-track workshop with guest speakers, oral, poster, and demo sessions, working group discussions, and a banquet. The workshop proceedings will be published as part of the ACM International Conference Proceedings Series.

    This year's DAS workshop received 91 submissions from 25 countries on six continents. The Program Committee selected 28 papers for oral presentation and 37 papers for poster presentation. In addition, 15 short papers were presented and six groups gave live demos.

    The workshop was kicked-off by an illuminating and entertaining keynote talk by George Nagywith the title Document Systems Analysis: Testing, Testing, Testing.(Click for slides: PDF, 2.5MB)

    The IAPR Nakano Award for the best paper at the workshop was presented to Masakazu Iwamura, Tomohiko Tsuji, and Koichi Kise for their paper Memory-Based Recognition of Camera-Captured Characters.

    The IAPR Best Student Paper Award was given to Mudit Agrawal for his paper co-authored with David Doermann titled Context-Aware and Content-Based Dynamic Voronoi Page Segmentation. with Honorable Mention going to Pingping Xiu for his paper co-authored with Henry Baird titled Analysis of Whole-Book Recognition.

    As with past workshops, an important feature of DAS 2010 was the lively Working Group discussions, this time led by Marcus Liwicki. The broad consensus from attendees is that the workshop was a great success.

    The official proceedings have been published in the ACM Digital Library (Link). Followup materials from the workshop (Photos, Presentation slides, etc.) will soon be available on this website.

    Slides and papers will be linked to the appropriate entries in the detailed technical program.

    A special issue of IJDAR to include selected papers and the Working Group reports is also planned.

    The DAS 2010 Program Booklet can be found here.

  • For all enquiries regarding DAS 2010, please contact Srirangaraj (Ranga) Setlur :

Site hosted by:



Workshop and Program Co-Chairs

David Doermann, Univ. of MD
Venu Govindaraju, University at Buffalo, SUNY
Daniel Lopresti, Lehigh University
Prem Natarajan, Raytheon BBN Technologies

Publication and WWW Chair

Srirangaraj Setlur, University at Buffalo, SUNY

Finance and Local Arrangements Committee

Rohit Prasad, Raytheon BBN - Chair
David Frampton, Raytheon BBN
Laura Stephens, Raytheon BBN

Program Committee

Gady Agam (USA)
Adel M. Alimi (Tunisia)
Apostolos Antonacopoulos (UK)
Henry Baird (USA)
Elisa Barney Smith (USA)
Abdel Belaïd (France)
Kathrin Berkner (USA)
Thomas Breuel (Germany)
Horst Bunke (Switzerland)
Mohamed Cheriet (Canada)
Andreas Dengel (Germany)
Xiaoqing Ding (China)
Hiromichi Fujisawa (Japan)
Tin Kam Ho (USA)
Jianying Hu (USA)
Rolf Ingold (Switzerland)
Masakazu Iwamura (Japan)
Dimosthenis Karatzas (Spain)
Soo-Hyung Kim (Korea)
Koichi Kise (Japan)
Laurence Likforman-Sulem (France)
Rafael Dueire Lins (Brazil)
Cheng-Lin Liu (China)
Marcus Liwicki (Germany)
R. Manmatha (USA)
Simone Marinai (Italy)
Masaki Nakagawa (Japan)
Satoshi Naoi (Japan)
Il-Seok Oh (Korea)
Shinichiro Omachi (Japan)
Umapada Pal (India)
Hiroshi Sako (Japan)
Venkata Subramaniam (India)
Jun Sun (China)
Kazem Taghva (USA)
Chew Lim Tan (Singapore)
George Thoma (USA)
Karl Tombre (France)
Seiichi Uchida (Japan)
Berin Yanikoglu (Turkey)

DAS 2010 Home | CUBS Home